Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 31, 2014, 06:36:23 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: NEW Follow LiveATC updates on Twitter and Facebook

+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Aviation Audio Clips (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  "...i've never had a controller talk to me like that!"
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: "...i've never had a controller talk to me like that!"  (Read 26694 times)
ed3004

« on: September 12, 2008, 03:39:46 AM »

Hi, I'm pretty new to ATC communications and procedures but very interested in this sort of thing. I was wondering if you think this pilot was being inconsiderate and expecting too much in his request or if the controller was just having a bad day and venting some steam. I understand ATC is a very stressful job but was his reaction reasonable? I think I would be just as shocked as the pilot after being so polite. With all the traffic these days I guess pilots are expected to be extra mindful with what they ask for.
Thanks for your opinions.

I should have added this before.

*Added 10/26:  METAR KSNA 100453Z 23004KT 6SM BR BKN018 20/16 A2979 RMK AO2 SLP086 T02000161 , (around 10pm out here)

« Last Edit: September 26, 2008, 07:45:39 AM by ed3004 » Logged
jdfmoc

« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 06:28:09 AM »

I am one thats not 100% in favor on controllers who decide to get smart over a question asked. What are we here to do, provide safety. I think the controller from the part i heard was out of line. Familiar or not Familiar doesnt matter you got to help ya, and he wasnt busy enough to give you a piece of his mind. Sry i would call the tower talk to him. It was not an out of line question.

For the pilots that read this forum:

Its better to ask for help then assume you already know!
cessna157

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 08:58:43 AM »