airtraffic

Author Topic: Really scary carelessness on ATC part  (Read 35809 times)

Offline Saabeba

Really scary carelessness on ATC part
« on: May 04, 2008, 10:29:42 PM »
If this has posted here before, sorry newbie here.

Providence near accident in thick fog -- I don't see how the ATC clear's a plane for take-off without having clear confirmation of where all planes are.

Offline lololepro

Re: Really scary carelessness on ATC part
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2008, 01:25:05 AM »
Very scary clip!!! The controller sounds like she has no idea what she is doing... Notice at the end she clears 2998 for takeoff on the wrong runway (23L) before correcting it to 5R
Does anyone know if there was an investigation and what the outcome was? It seems obvious that 1448 made a big mistake but admitted it as soon as they realized something was wrong... But the controller sounded like she didn't care, she just ignored the comments about the "active runway"...

Offline ect76

• EGPH
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2008, 01:28:28 AM »
Agreed- And the fact she totally lost her cool and started shouting at everyone and anyone who'd listen over the radio didn't help. The scariest thing, I thought, was that she was still attempting to clear aircraft for takeoff when there was a plane out there with no idea where they were! Could've easily been disastrous!!

Edit - Sorry, just noticed Saabeba made more or less exactly the point I made about clearing for t/o...Makes my post seem kinda pointless now!!
« Last Edit: May 05, 2008, 01:30:33 AM by ect76 »

Offline Heading090

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2008, 05:00:11 AM »
FAA did not find any errors in controller's actions:

"Peters, the FAA spokesman, declined to identify the pilots or the controller last week. The controller's name, he said, "is not releasable" under federal law because the FAA did not find any errors in her instructions to the pilots.