Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 25, 2014, 02:48:55 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: LiveATC.net Flyers Released!  Please click here to download & print a copy and be sure to post at an airport near you!


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Feed Setup Pictures (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  KLAX feed Set up pics: part deux
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: KLAX feed Set up pics: part deux  (Read 16453 times)
bluecrewfan08
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157



« on: July 24, 2008, 11:58:24 PM »

1) View of house with JPole antenna mounted 12' above roof peak

2) Close up view of JPole slid inside extension pipe mounted to abandoned vent stack

3) View of LA Tower from roof. Tower looks very close due to my zoom lense, but is about 2.5 air miles away.

4) Office with used laptop(Thanks Bill) streaming feed, $80 scanner from EBAY, $7 dollar laptop fan from Hong Kong, and donated belden cable and connectors ( Thanks Mark)
« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 01:37:19 AM by bluecrewfan08 » Logged
badaboom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2008, 04:31:06 PM »

 :-DWow very cool set up,and works great!!!!!!!! Thank You for your hard work,I enjoy listening to LAX.
Logged
Glass-Cockpit.org
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2008, 04:39:18 PM »

I assume your feeding into high speed cable? Does your cable company ding you anything extra for the extra bandwidth use? I'd really like to try setting up a feed, but I don't want to start it only to have to stop later.

Pete
WWW.Glass-Cockpit.Org
Logged

Fly Safe,
Pete
KSYR-pjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1722



« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2008, 05:50:24 PM »

I assume your feeding into high speed cable? Does your cable company ding you anything extra for the extra bandwidth use? I'd really like to try setting up a feed, but I don't want to start it only to have to stop later.

I used to use Time Warner Road Runner as my ISP during my "ATC feed" tenure but then switched to Verizon FiOS.  In both cases the bandwidth used month to month to upload a continual stream to LiveATC's servers was small enough to be off their upload radar.

Verizon actually specifies in their TOS that they prohibit their customers using their computers as servers (Web, FTP, P2P, etc) while on the FiOS network - perhaps even RR has this prohibition now as well?  If Verizon were to ever question my upload use, I have my argument ready that I am simply sending data to one other computer, which is true.
Logged

Regards, Peter
ATC Feed:  Syracuse (KSYR), NY
bluecrewfan08
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157



« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2008, 09:54:34 PM »

I use a simple 19.95 a month DSL with a wireless connection. nothing more.

Rob
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3627



WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2008, 08:06:45 AM »

All of our feeds run a single 16kbps upstream from the feeder (that's dialup speed for you IT-impaired folks).  This will likely never be on an ISP's radar screen.

Dave
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!