Author Topic: need External/base station antenna ideas for a hand held aviation nav/com radio  (Read 30854 times)

Offline tomcruse7

Hi I live a few miles off runway 23L at IND... someone already has quite a few feeds up for IND but regardless if I can contribute to the IND feeds or not I would like to have an external/base station type antenna set up for my icom a6 hand held. I am a pilot and understand the basics but defiantly not an expert when it comes to antenna and types that will work best. Basically I am in an apt so the height of an antenna set up would prob be 10-15 feet max. what type of antenna would give me the best reception for my droller with a shorter poll height? can I amplify the signal with a pre amp at all? thanks for your help in advance :)

Brandon

Offline notaperfectpilot

• PPL
I recommend a homemade yagi antenna...they seem to have a fair amount of gain, and is extremely easy/cheap to build. check out this topic here:

http://www.liveatc.net/forums/listener-forum/airband-yagi-antenna-designs/

hope this helps!

Offline InterpreDemon

I would start with a cheap ground plane as high as you can get it, and that will probably get all worth getting on the ground at the field while still giving you 360 deg coverage of everything in the air. If you can't pick up tower, ground, approach or departure ground transmissions then you might consider adding a yagi to the side of the mast, but from a couple miles I think you will be fine. It's all flat around there, right?

Offline tomcruse7

yes its flat i can pick up tower and app with the stock ant. fairly well... i was just looking for better recption. Are all the conectors cpmpatable or will i likely need an adaptor?

Offline tomcruse7

i mean if i can go the lazy route and but something alrady made for 50$ or less i prob would

Offline InterpreDemon