Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 30, 2016, 12:31:48 PM
Home Help Login Register      
News: Check out: Air Race Classic 2016


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Feed Setup Pictures (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  New and improved JFK feed setup
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: New and improved JFK feed setup  (Read 41726 times)
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4027



WWW
« on: June 15, 2006, 09:39:31 AM »

Here are some pictures of the new setup.
Logged
Jason
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


CFI/CFII


« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2006, 01:59:00 PM »

Looks great, dave!  Awesome work and great location.

They sound incredible!!

Jason
Logged
Bator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 12:27:08 PM »

I enjoy that one controller.. "Kennedy tower, hello"  afro
Logged

PP-ASEL (Working on Instrument & Commercial)
boom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2007, 04:16:48 PM »

What range is the first tower scanner scanning?
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4027



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2007, 10:09:58 AM »

What range is the first tower scanner scanning?

There is only one tower scanner and the frequencies it scans are listed on the Class B feed page.

Dave
Logged
boom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2007, 05:58:41 PM »

I see there are 3 tower freqs it's monitoring.  Mind if I ask how you setup one scanner to monitor those three freqs simultaneously?
Logged
Jason
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


CFI/CFII


« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2007, 06:39:51 PM »

I see there are 3 tower freqs it's monitoring.  Mind if I ask how you setup one scanner to monitor those three freqs simultaneously?

Program the frequencies into the scanner and then hit the "scan" button.  It automatically stops on each frequency when it receives a transmission, and scans the others after a transmission ends.
Logged
boom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2007, 03:11:39 PM »

Thanks for the tip Jason.  I guess I should move those 3 freqs into a new bank and set it to scan that bank only or it'll be stopping on every single preset freq.
Logged
xautomailer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2008, 05:41:36 AM »

Awesome! Thanks.
Logged
jsapyta
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73


« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2008, 01:53:39 PM »

What are the five devices in the second picture? I see there is three uniden scanners for scanning the airwaves right?

Logged

N7XLQ
Squawk 7700
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 499



WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2008, 01:12:47 AM »

Are you using a inline preamp in your setup to make up for any loss due to the splitter?

Thanks.

« Last Edit: October 06, 2008, 09:29:52 AM by Squawk 7700 » Logged

Feeder:
KHWD Ground/Tower
KOAK Del/Gnd/Twr
KSFO NORCAL App Rwy 28L/R
KSFO Tower/Ground
NORCAL Approach (KOAK)
NORCAL Departure (KSFO/KOAK)
KSJC NORCAL Approach #2
ZOA Oakland Center (35/40/41)


RJTT App/Dep
RJTT Tokyo Control
RJTT Twr/TCA
Steel_Anxiety
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2008, 04:52:25 AM »

That looks awesome. Hopefully I will get to do something like that someday.
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4027



WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2008, 01:12:48 AM »

Are you using a inline preamp in your setup to make up for any loss due to the splitter?

Yes, that is exactly what the preamp is for, and only that.  With that many scanners it is a requirement, otherwise the losses are too severe - unless you really have enough link margin to not have to worry about it, which we really don't in that situation.

Dave
Logged
Аэрофлот Jr.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 270



WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2008, 07:04:19 AM »

how much is that receiver from radioshack ?   and nice setup
Logged

sincerely, Rae
chefnoel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 182


« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2008, 07:03:44 PM »

Go to eBay - you can find them cheap

Also

I have a Radio Shack PRO-2018 - for sale - BRAND NEW IN THE BOX - cost two weeks ago was $99.  Will sell it for $70 plus shipping.  Send me a PM if interested.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2008, 07:06:43 PM by chefnoel » Logged
Glass-Cockpit.org
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18



WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2008, 04:32:09 PM »

There is a fine line between a hobby and an obsession!!!! You're wayyyyyyyy over the line, Sir!!!  wink

Beautiful setup! Thanks for your hard work. I've only been haunting your site for a little while, but really enjoy it. My father-in-law (who lives in Switzerland) listens to your feeds to keep proficient with his aviation English (he is German). It was he who told me to check it out.

Thanks, Again!
Pete
WWW.Glass-Cockpit.org
Logged

Fly Safe,
Pete
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4027



WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2008, 08:14:10 AM »

You are right about the obsession part.  smiley

But beyond that, it is a labor of love for aviation and the fine art of effective communication.

Dave
Logged
gonzalu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2010, 01:39:20 PM »

Sorry to revive this topic but it is too important to pass up. I joined JUST so I can say thank you. AMAZING the view from your setup (hope is home) and it looks to be near Bayswater.

Anyway, two things I love are aviation and communications (HAM call N2MAV) and your setup rocks!! I want to do this sooner or later and I must say, what you've done with the GROUND/TOWER mix of Kennedy is just exemplary... I'd like to know, you're doing it in software or by using Dual Watch? I figured your radio will pre-empt the TWR freq wwhen it has audio and shortcut the other ground freq.

I hate when ground or approach monopolizes the channel scan and I miss an important call on Tower while spotting!

Anyway Dave, thanks to you I enjoy my spotting trips to Kennedy sooo much more

Cheers and hopefully one day you can join us at Bayswater or Panera smiley Would love to shake your hand!

Manny
http://www.thrustimages.com
http://www.pbase.com/gonzalu/aviation
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4027



WWW
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2010, 03:58:54 PM »

Hi Manny-

Glad you are enjoying the site and feeds...that mix is done in software.

Dave
Logged
gonzalu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2010, 06:24:38 PM »

Gotcha.. thanks Dave... I also have the iPhone App of course which is also invaluable as I approach the airport. My scanner only gets the tower about 1 mile out from the car.

Cheers!
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!