Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 20, 2014, 08:35:46 PM
Home Help Login Register      
News: LiveATC.net Flyers Released!  Please click here to download & print a copy and be sure to post at an airport near you!


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Feed Setup Pictures (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  Setup?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Setup?  (Read 51888 times)
KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« on: February 27, 2006, 05:56:13 AM »

Ok, well this seems like the most appropriate place to post so... I am about 5 nm away for KEUG in Eugene Oregon. I would like to get a feed going their. What is a cheap way to go? I have been looking at icom, and does the scanner have to be specific for "computers" for it to be able to connect to my soundcard? Whats a good "CHEAP" way to go Cheesy I want a handheld for flying, so im getting that soon. But i have a feeling that wont get the job done, because of what i have been hearing about the quality. If i can get it to worke efficiently, then sure! I live on a hill up from the Airport. So i think i might have an easier time then some picking up tower. I know ill need an antenna, but it has to be discrete. Like, an antenna that i can just hang on the side of the house that doesn't stick out all over the place! What other equipement is needed for it to work, radio wise i mean... Theirs the scanner, antenna, what else? Can the scanner just "hook" into the computer and can the antenna just hook into the scanner? Please explain. Their wasn't much info on this around the site, and yes i already looked in faq, so try to help me out guys! Im sure you all didn't go blow hundreds of hundreds of bucks right off the bat!
Logged

-Kevin-
Kalpazan
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 79


« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2006, 10:43:10 AM »

I can only speak for myself but I believe it is not much of a difference for the others...

It is all not too expensive if you do not go for some very special setup. The scanner must have the aviation band and that is the only requirement for it. My one is Uniden UBC180XLT, paid around $150 at the time I bought it, it is handheld and it works just fine. The antenna I made myself but it should not cost more than $50-80 for you. Then just any PC that runs Windows or Linux and has sound card on it is fine. I bought dedicated second-hand notebook so that I can run the feed without occupying my 'mainframe' computer smiley

That's all of it. You connect the antenna to the scanner with a coaxial cable and the scanner to the sound card with a regular audio cable. Software to stream is provided to you for free. There is of course more work until u get best of it, like installing the antenna on a suitable place, proper wiring of the cables, scanner tuning, audio card adjustment and so on but those u should not be afraid of as we will help you smiley

Hope this helps...  wink
Logged

LBBG - Burgas, Bulgaria Feeder
KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2006, 06:16:40 PM »

Mk ok thats real helpful. I want the sp-200, err the nav and com on sportys. Anyone know how the quality is for feeding? The faq said they tend to sound crappy, but we'll see. What kind of antenna is it...Where are places you mount it?
Logged

-Kevin-
Kalpazan
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 79


« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2006, 12:42:21 AM »

Usually you need discone type of antenna. One of these for example:

http://www.nevadaradio.co.uk/acatalog/scanmaster-antennas.html

And you mount it outside and as high as possible. Somewhere on the roof for example. But must not be too far away from the scanner to avoid signal loss.
Logged

LBBG - Burgas, Bulgaria Feeder
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2006, 09:06:29 PM »

I did it a cheap way... I have a pro 83, got it on ebay new for 40 bucks. Got a jpole antenna for 27 bucks, if you want the link to the site ask me. And some RG-6 cable for free, some nice guy in radioshack paid for it (ran out of money)  Smiley . I have a special feed computer, wont be too hard for you to find a win 98+ computer. My mini 9 inch, 10 year old monitor Smiley And surge protector! Thats what I did Smiley
Logged

KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2006, 01:02:15 AM »

Haha well i have the computer easily at my grasp "I know some people" Smiley I want the 200 also just for my future in aviation, althoguh that means the thing wont be up all the time but... Anyhow, any good antennas recommended? I dont think that the height will be a problem, cuz i can put it close to the roof, But!!! IT HAS TO BE DISCREET!
Logged

-Kevin-
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2006, 07:10:12 PM »

This is the one I got, it will become discreet soon Smiley Its copper, and when outside it will turn brownish, so it will blend in.
http://www.kb9vbr.com/jpole.htm
If you need any help, IM me...
Logged

n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2006, 07:47:29 AM »

I want to set up a feed of ILG in the few years before college. I hope on purchasing a Bearcat scanner by next fall. I have a couple questions. How do I hook it up to my computer? I can get an antenna and put it on my roof or back trees somewhere, knowone really cares around me, I  could just say its TV. Now what cable do I need to hook up the scanner to the antenna? How do you run it from the inside to my roof? any help will be appreciated.
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2006, 07:16:34 PM »

Its simple to hook it up to your computer. All you do is get a 2 male end headphone style cable, and hook it into your line in port.

Get an antenna Smiley

I use RG-6 cable, works just fine for me, but you  might want to buy RG-8, 20 bucks at radioshack.

YOu can run it through the wall, just drill a hole!

Quote from: n57flyguy
I want to set up a feed of ILG in the few years before college. I hope on purchasing a Bearcat scanner by next fall. I have a couple questions. How do I hook it up to my computer? I can get an antenna and put it on my roof or back trees somewhere, knowone really cares around me, I  could just say its TV. Now what cable do I need to hook up the scanner to the antenna? How do you run it from the inside to my roof? any help will be appreciated.
Logged

Jason
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


CFI/CFII


« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2006, 07:21:34 PM »

Quote from: Lezam
I use RG-6 cable, works just fine for me, but you  might want to buy RG-8, 20 bucks at radioshack.


Are you sure you're using RG6?  RG6 is 75 ohm cable, whereas RG8 is 50 ohm.
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2006, 07:26:09 PM »

Quote from: Jason
Quote from: Lezam
I use RG-6 cable, works just fine for me, but you  might want to buy RG-8, 20 bucks at radioshack.


Are you sure you're using RG6?  RG6 is 75 ohm cable, whereas RG8 is 50 ohm.


yup, I was told RG-8 is best for transmitting, and RG-6 is better for receiving. The guy bought it for me anyways Smiley I live so close to the airport, and get such good reception, that I doubt it will make that much of a difference...
Logged

n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2006, 06:49:18 AM »

Alright, but now I need another internet connection, and thats going to take too long. I'll still see what I can do, thanks for helping me out.
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2006, 08:03:31 AM »

Quote from: n57flyguy
Alright, but now I need another internet connection, and thats going to take too long. I'll still see what I can do, thanks for helping me out.


If you have one, you could use it Smiley
Logged

n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2006, 10:06:45 AM »

I do but its a bad location for a scanner to get reception from an antenna. And it is unreliable sometimes, it wirless and really sucks sometimes. I would doubt my bad fells like hearing numbers all day to (music to me). I'll talk to him and see If I could work somthing out. I really would like to set up ILG and put N57 up to. ILG has got some great operations.
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2006, 10:08:14 AM »

Do you get any reception from it? MAybe when you get a new antenna... Also, your dad wont hear a thing Smiley
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!