Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 19, 2014, 05:52:18 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: LiveATC.net Flyers Released!  Please click here to download & print a copy and be sure to post at an airport near you!


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Feed Setup Pictures (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  Setup?
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Setup?  (Read 50457 times)
n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #30 on: March 06, 2006, 09:09:57 PM »

Yeah, ebay is great, thats where Im going to pick mine up.
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #31 on: March 07, 2006, 06:55:05 PM »

Got mine from Ebay too. BTW I am not sure you can get around drilling a hole in the wall. If you figure a way, let me in on it Smiley
Logged

n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #32 on: March 07, 2006, 09:16:27 PM »

Will do my freind, I come up with some creative stuff so far Cheesy
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #33 on: March 08, 2006, 03:36:57 AM »

Thanks guys, this helps alot! Still confused though, if i use my sporties radio instead of a scanner, how will or how much will the quality differ?
Logged

-Kevin-
Biff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 373



WWW
« Reply #34 on: March 08, 2006, 12:41:52 PM »

Quote from: Lezam
BTW I am not sure you can get around drilling a hole in the wall. If you figure a way, let me in on it Smiley


Do what I did: drill a hole in the ceiling.  Wink
Logged

n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #35 on: March 08, 2006, 04:39:44 PM »

no drilling!!! well, I cant drill a hole so I have to figure something out.
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #36 on: March 08, 2006, 06:47:20 PM »

You put your antenna on the roof, but I am not going on top of my roof hehe SmileySmiley Scared lol
Logged

n57flyguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


« Reply #37 on: March 09, 2006, 10:08:41 AM »

It should get great reception if I put it on my roof. Why would you be to scared at most it should take 20 min to set up. Get a friend to help you out.
Logged

Fly to live, live to fly!
Check out www.n57.com
FlyCMI
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80


« Reply #38 on: March 09, 2006, 09:25:21 PM »

Now my antenna was scary to put up, I never want to have to do that again.
Logged

Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #39 on: March 11, 2006, 11:31:35 PM »

I am planning on putting my antenna on the side of my chimney, as high up as my 10 foot ladder can go Smiley So figure 10 ft + 6 ft, so about 16 feet in the air. I dont want to get on my roof, its scary up there, especially with all the wind around my house Smiley
Logged

Jason
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


CFI/CFII


« Reply #40 on: March 13, 2006, 12:55:35 PM »

Quote from: n57flyguy
It should get great reception if I put it on my roof. Why would you be to scared at most it should take 20 min to set up. Get a friend to help you out.


Good suggestions, Paul.  I'm sure there are plenty of friends and others in the area that would be happy to help you setup the antenna, Lezam.  Do as much as you can before actually getting up to install it.  You can get many things ready in advance.

Even putting the antenna a few feet inward on a side of a roof instead of high up in the middle will boost reception in most cases.  The more height, the better, but try not to get caught in a situation you don't want to be in.  

Also--try and stay away from putting the copper J-pole next to a copper roof at all costs.  I lost my N90 reception by doing that, so I have to revert to the discone antenna in the attic for those frequencies.
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #41 on: March 13, 2006, 01:40:02 PM »

I am not sure if I can actually do that though. My house is pretty old, and I am not sure if it can take my weight on it. I might be having my roofing done in the summer, so if I do I will move the antenna upward. For now, I am going to be putting my antenna as high up as I can go. Except for a tree, there is nothing visually stopping my view from jfk. So I think I will be allright with the antenna situated there, facing jfk.
Logged

KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #42 on: March 13, 2006, 02:43:54 PM »

Question, someone was telling me that you have to get permission from the airport to monitor the freqs....that true? Also, can someone still answer my question, how well with a 2 m jpole will a sporties handheld radio put out, and how will the quality be
Logged

-Kevin-
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #43 on: March 13, 2006, 02:56:48 PM »

Only in the UK you need permission, as to what I heard...


I have a Jpole, with a sportie, and it works great for me Smiley
Depends how far away you are, because they are low power..
Logged

Jason
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


CFI/CFII


« Reply #44 on: March 13, 2006, 03:10:37 PM »

Quote from: KevinK
Question, someone was telling me that you have to get permission from the airport to monitor the freqs....that true?


I believe that someone was referring to UK regulations as Lezam stated.

Quote from: KevinK
Also, can someone still answer my question, how well with a 2 m jpole will a sporties handheld radio put out, and how will the quality be


Are you referring to a 2 meter copper J-pole?  ...or a simple roll-up J-pole?

I don't see the purpose of using a copper J-pole with a handheld unless you use that handheld like a base station.  I can't imagine a person sitting at the airport with a sporty's handheld leaning on his ~70cm long copper J-pole (roughly 2.25 feet) antenna, but I'm not saying you can't (although I'd like to see the picture cheesy)

It is very dependant on the transmitters, their power output, surrounding terrain, and distance from the transmitter.  VHF is line-of-sight, so pilots (being in the sky; above you) shouldn't be hard to receive in most cases, but ATC facility's low-power transmitters that are either obscured by terrain or are low-power transmitters will make it difficult to receive the controller side of the converstation.

Please clarify on which J-pole you're referring to and possibly including the purpose/use that you're trying to achieve (ie: Listening from home, at the airport, etc, etc) so we can answer your question(s) further. Cheesy

Jason
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!