Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 29, 2016, 01:27:25 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: No coverage in your area? If you are near your local airport contact us to learn about becoming a volunteer


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Feed Setup Pictures (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  Setup?
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Setup?  (Read 69282 times)
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #50 on: March 14, 2006, 09:20:31 AM »

I am using a little pro-83 from radioshack (Similar to the bearcats, but cheaper) Doesnt give out alot of power, but I am so close to the airport, it prob doesnt even matter Smiley
Logged

KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #51 on: March 14, 2006, 02:42:50 PM »

Mk, but yeah also will their be a huge difference in the quality of the sound of the feed with a handheld, compared to a scanner?
Logged

-Kevin-
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #52 on: March 14, 2006, 11:47:46 PM »

Quote from: KevinK
Mk, but yeah also will their be a huge difference in the quality of the sound of the feed with a handheld, compared to a scanner?


No clue... Anyone?
Logged

KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #53 on: March 15, 2006, 03:14:09 AM »

Btw LEZAM, this is a bit random, looked at your link, your not hiring any web designers are you? I have about 4 years experience, knowledgable in HTML,Javascript,Some CSS,PHP, Learning asp, and yup!
Logged

-Kevin-
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #54 on: March 15, 2006, 08:27:20 AM »

Yep, I am actually hiring, check your PM.
Logged

KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #55 on: March 16, 2006, 02:42:46 PM »

Replied, anyhow, anyone know about the quality?
Logged

-Kevin-
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #56 on: March 16, 2006, 02:51:41 PM »

Personally, I would go with the desktop, because it sits up on the desk, unlike the handheld, and it prob has more functions then handheld. I like my radioshack handheld, because I can take it around with me, but if you dont need to take it around Smiley go with desktop
Logged

KevinK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #57 on: March 17, 2006, 03:08:40 PM »

Well i need a handheld because im starting flight training in the summer. Dont really want to have to pay for the scanner if i dont need it
Logged

-Kevin-
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #58 on: March 17, 2006, 03:24:34 PM »

Awesome, go for the handheld Smiley I personally like radioshack...
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #59 on: March 21, 2006, 12:05:56 PM »

Hi guys, I have a question about the antena. Well, I live in a 8 floors tall building, and I live on the 5th. I plan on placing the antenna on the top of my building, and than connect it with a cable to my appartment. What kind a cable to I need and will it be trouble the distance for the scaner?
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #60 on: March 21, 2006, 02:38:02 PM »

Would you say thats about 50 feet?
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #61 on: March 21, 2006, 05:48:18 PM »

Quote from: Lezam
Would you say thats about 50 feet?


The building's height is 78 feet so yeah, 50 feet should do it till my balcony or something. I also wondered, there is a high mountain between me and the airport, you think that will interfere with the waves?
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #62 on: March 21, 2006, 06:15:07 PM »

You need 50 OHM, or 75 OHM cabling. You can pick it up at radioshack. I bought RG-6, but you might want RG-8.

The mountain will effect the quality, but you might be high enough to not notice it Smiley
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #63 on: March 21, 2006, 06:19:05 PM »

So 75 OHM would be better, right? I need to look up the height of the mountain, but first I need to get a good scaner. (I have no idea about scaners). The thing is that here they are hard to get (few people are using them) I know 2 guys that perhaps own but I need to ask them. Anyway, if I can't find any to buy, I'll order one from Germany or even USA, I have lots of friend that would buy from ebay and send it. In few days I should get internet link and start preparations, so for now I'm still picking up informations.
Logged
Jason
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


CFI/CFII


« Reply #64 on: March 21, 2006, 06:20:54 PM »

Quote from: Fra
So 75 OHM would be better, right? I need to look up the height of the mountain, but first I need to get a good scaner. (I have no idea about scaners). The thing is that here they are hard to get (few people are using them) I know 2 guys that perhaps own but I need to ask them. Anyway, if I can't find any to buy, I'll order one from Germany or even USA, I have lots of friend that would buy from ebay and send it. In few days I should get internet link and start preparations, so for now I'm still picking up informations.


I'd suggest picking up 50 Ohm coax.  For the long distance you are talking about the coax traveling from the antenna to the scanner, try and get some very well shielded coax like RG-8/U or Belden 9913.

Jason
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #65 on: March 21, 2006, 06:22:23 PM »

Yup, 50 OHM would be best for you. Where are you located anyways? Sometimes you could find good auctions on ebay that include worldwide shipping prices Smiley
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #66 on: March 21, 2006, 06:27:34 PM »

Right now, Ohrid Macedonia

I sure will look things up, first I need to solve the internet connection, than to find a suitable pc (I have a very old one that I don't use 166 mhz, 16 mb ram, 700 mb HDD) but I don't think this would work, so I need to buy something second hand, or who knows, it has win98 on it (I'd prefer linux, so I'll try that one too, than the antenna (have no idea about this) than comes the tricky part (the cables scaner and to wire the whole thing up) Step by step.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2010, 05:54:36 PM by Fra » Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #67 on: March 21, 2006, 06:32:29 PM »

Wow, what country is that:)
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #68 on: March 21, 2006, 06:34:23 PM »

Located in the Balkan peninsula, east of Italy and Albania, north of Greece.  Smiley
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #69 on: March 21, 2006, 06:36:37 PM »

Quote from: Fra
Located in the Balkan peninsula, east of Italy and Albania, north of Greece.  Smiley


I am guessing they dont have a radioshack up there Smiley
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #70 on: March 21, 2006, 06:43:59 PM »

No radioshack Sad I should have bought long time ago, it just never crossed my mind. I will pull it out somehow.
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #71 on: March 21, 2006, 06:45:32 PM »

Well, you guys have credit cards up there right? You could make an ebay account, pay for it via paypal, and have it shipped to you from another country I guess...
Logged

Fra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #72 on: March 21, 2006, 06:51:10 PM »

Yeah, but I don't really know if ebay ships internationally. Few years ago, while I was living in the states it was us and canada only, so I dont know right now if they do it.
Logged
Lezam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


KJFK Stream Feeder


« Reply #73 on: March 21, 2006, 06:52:21 PM »

Well, ebay doesnt ship themselves. Some auctions have a "worldwide" shipping rate, flat for any country. I am sure that if you got a ebay and paypal account you could get it shipped to you. Its just a matter of cost.
Logged

leonardoperezsalles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33


« Reply #74 on: May 03, 2006, 10:01:32 PM »

Dude, i live in Honduras and although we have Radioshack they radiosuck cuz they dont sell all the neat things they sell in the US, and the postal service is a mess. But there are some companies that that a service called an IMC-International Mail club, this means that the company rents or buys a PO BOX in the US and they sub-lease it to you and bring the packages from the US to my home. So that gives you the ability to have an address is the US and so on...I Bought my Uniden BC895XLT that way.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!