airtraffic

Author Topic: ATC hiring process?  (Read 32112 times)

Offline NAplaya16-ATC

ATC hiring process?
« on: February 11, 2008, 10:46:50 PM »
hello everybody,

im new to ATC, and i just want clarification on the actual hiring process from CTI schools.  Currently, i am under the impression that upon graduation from the school, your name gets entered either into as a "direct hire" or you have to wait for the next time they are accepting people at OKC.   My first question is, is that correct?  My second question is, upon graduation and choosing where you would like to work (based on availability), are you highered first by the facility, then sent to OKC to recieve training?  or is there another process used in the hiring process?

If yall can answer these questions, or have any info at all, please feel free to respond!

Thank you!

-NAplaya

Offline NY Z Pilot

Re: ATC hiring process?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 11:02:10 PM »
I went to Vaughn college in queens... After you graduate the school sends OKC a letter of recomendation. Then the paper work begins. It was basically all paperwork for about a year. After its all said and done you choose 5 states of where youd like to work. I chose NY NJ NC and I think that was it. Then they send you an offer, for me it was terminal option, NC. I accepted it. Next was the exact facilty, for me RDU. Either before the offers or after, i dont remember, you go to the drug tests, physicals, psychological tests, security clearance etc. After that they call you to schedule a class date in OKC. Go to OKC, pass, then your off to your facility.

Offline NAplaya16-ATC

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 03:18:31 PM »
so how long were you in OKC?

Offline NY Z Pilot

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2008, 04:31:51 PM »