Author Topic: Controller in trouble for letting child direct air traffic at Kennedy Airport  (Read 52672 times)

Offline retro11

yeah the uk evening news also picked up on it shame if this guy lost his job over this ,just a great day out for a wee kid no harm came to anyone what ever happend to freedom of speech !

Offline emshighway

FAA investigating a second incident the next day involving the same controller but a different child. Two transmissions were made.

Offline Lon

The news report I heard about this said it occurred on February 17th, but didn't say what time. Does anyone have the LiveATC.net link for this transmission? I'd like to listen to the whole thing, in context.

Offline kicket

Was this the same controller who was in that legendary recording known as "Bad Day at JFK Ground"?

I'm very new to aviation communications but that guy is very good at what he does, even if he does inject a little humor into his job.
The NBC coverage of this was ridiculous, they managed to equate the JFK controller with an Aeroflot pilot who let his kids fly and subsequently crash an airliner. They played B-roll of the wreckage from that crash when discussing the JFK "incident." The mind reels from the lack of ethics.