Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 01, 2016, 05:55:25 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: Check out: Air Race Classic 2016


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Listener Forum (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  CYYZ feed?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: CYYZ feed?  (Read 11274 times)
m.scholasticus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« on: October 13, 2006, 01:41:39 PM »

since it appears no one has asked yet i guess i'll ask. does anyone know what the deal is? its been down for weeks now. I really enjoy this one especially since i see all the arrivals from the comfort of my room when they are landing 23/24  grin
Logged
Tom56
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2006, 07:46:31 AM »

I sent an e-mail to the feeder early last week to see what's up but got no response so far.
If it's still down when I get home tonight. I'll add the freqs for CYYZ to CZYZ until the situation is resloved.  smiley
Logged
Yegger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 201



« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2006, 07:45:23 PM »

That would be sensational.
Logged
Yegger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 201



« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2006, 07:05:33 PM »

Looks to be back up and rolling, at least for the time being.  Hoping the volume issues etc. will be worked out. Thanks a lot, guys.
Logged
Tom56
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2006, 08:16:13 AM »

I'm having some equipment problems that will be resolved in the next week or two. I spent quite a few hours on it yesterday and can't get any more volume without it breaking up.  sad
Logged
JetScan1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 786


« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2006, 09:06:04 AM »

Anyone ever talk to the people at Aviation World or Threshold Aviation about setting up a feed ? Both locations right beside the airport would be ideal and maybe the exposure on this site might give them some advertising space.

http://www.aviationworld.net/about/

http://www.thresholdaviation.com/about.asp

DJ
Logged
bcrosby
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 332



WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2006, 10:33:54 PM »

Anyone ever talk to the people at Aviation World or Threshold Aviation about setting up a feed ? Both locations right beside the airport would be ideal and maybe the exposure on this site might give them some advertising space.

I know aviation world uses their ATC feed of YYZ as hold "music" whenever you call them... So they already have the equipment..
Logged

LORm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 122



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2006, 03:05:05 AM »


I know aviation world uses their ATC feed of YYZ as hold "music" whenever you call them... So they already have the equipment..

Nifty!
Logged

mstram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2006, 06:11:55 PM »

Anyone ever talk to the people at Aviation World or Threshold Aviation about setting up a feed ? Both locations right beside the airport would be ideal and maybe the exposure on this site might give them some advertising space.

I know aviation world uses their ATC feed of YYZ as hold "music" whenever you call them... So they already have the equipment..

AFAIK, they just have a scanner on the "counter", so no "feed" is involved.

But it would be a great idea if they could supply one.

Is there a thread / faq .. whatever on how to setup a feed?

Better yet, would be if someone here who is  -

a) experienced in how to set one up
b) lives near or doens't mind driving over to see them

.. contacts them and offers to set it up for them, explaining the advantages of advertising ..etc. to them.

I qualify for b) but not a)   Smiley

Mike
Logged
mstram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2006, 06:15:10 PM »

I'm having some equipment problems that will be resolved in the next week or two. I spent quite a few hours on it yesterday and can't get any more volume without it breaking up.  sad

Buzz,

Thanks for setting up the feed !   I missed it the last while.

Just wondering why the frequencies are shifted down (I'm using WinAmp .. and dialup ... but had been using the same setup for the "old" feed which didn't have the frequency problem.

At first I though they had hired a bunch of new controllers grin

Mike
Logged
Tom56
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2006, 07:43:29 PM »

I'm having some equipment problems that will be resolved in the next week or two. I spent quite a few hours on it yesterday and can't get any more volume without it breaking up.  sad

Buzz,

Thanks for setting up the feed !   I missed it the last while.

Just wondering why the frequencies are shifted down (I'm using WinAmp .. and dialup ... but had been using the same setup for the "old" feed which didn't have the frequency problem.

At first I though they had hired a bunch of new controllers grin

Mike

What do you mean by shifted down?
As for the crappy sound and disconnect problems. I'm hoping to have a replacement scanner in soon to fix the feed. embarassed
Logged
mstram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2006, 07:57:32 PM »


What do you mean by shifted down?

Seems to be ok/better today.   Volume is much better too.

By "shifted down", it's the same effect as if you slow down a recording, all the pitches go down, slow it enough and you can turn a normal voice into an "evil" monster Smiley

Where are you/your scanner/antenna located by the way?

How do you feel about adding more frequencies?    Gets a bit boring listetinng to only depart/arriv/tower.  (Not that listening to ATC is THAT exciting anyway Smiley ... I alternate between it and music when I'm working on my p.c. Smiley

     119.3 / 133.4 (I find) interesting to hear the private guys.   Also adding the other freqs like 124.92 / 132.47, 127.00 .. others?  lets you "follow" a flight until they get out of (radio) range anyway.

Mike
Logged
Tom56
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2006, 08:46:04 PM »

I'll have to leave things as they are right now until I replace the scanner.
Logged
Spitfire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2006, 03:40:46 PM »


I know aviation world uses their ATC feed of YYZ as hold "music" whenever you call them... So they already have the equipment..

Nifty!

Greetings all:

Should anyone wish to pursue the feed at Aviation
World, here's some contact info:

Len Neath, Owner (Retired 747 AC  driver)

Steve Neath, son

Andy Cline, Ops Mgr...probably the best initial contact person.

Regards



Logged
Tomato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 277


« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2006, 04:06:33 PM »

What exactly would we be looking for?  We already have the CYYZ feed?

As for the current CYYZ feed itself, I too have noticed it's not the same as before.  I seem to remember the feeder being a different user... could this be a reason why?  There is also some constant background noise/hum, and currently - clicks which I don't know how to identify.

Nonetheless, I do appreciate the feed and have it running right now!  Smiley
Logged

Serving you with CYVR... =)
JetScan1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 786


« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2006, 04:22:50 PM »

Quote
What exactly would we be looking for?  We already have the CYYZ feed?

The current Toronto feeds are saturated with too many busy frequencies. Ideally a setup like the Boston/Kennedy/San Fancisco feeds would be far better with separate radios dedicated to Ground/Tower/Arrival/Departure/Center etc. DJ
Logged
Spitfire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2006, 04:31:28 PM »

What exactly would we be looking for?  We already have the CYYZ feed?

As for the current CYYZ feed itself, I too have noticed it's not the same as before.  I seem to remember the feeder being a different user... could this be a reason why?  There is also some constant background noise/hum, and currently - clicks which I don't know how to identify.

Nonetheless, I do appreciate the feed and have it running right now!  Smiley

Dunno "what exactly would we be looking for?"...The question was posed by another poster, I provided info to that effect.

Yeah, I'm getting many annoying clicks, hums, etc on CYYZ feed. I thought it might have been my dial up rural server, but possibly not since you have the same problem.

And, yes, I, too appreciate having the feed even as it is.

Regards

Logged
mstram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2006, 01:58:28 PM »

What exactly would we be looking for?  We already have the CYYZ feed?

As for the current CYYZ feed itself, I too have noticed it's not the same as before.  I seem to remember the feeder being a different user... could this be a reason why?  There is also some constant background noise/hum, and currently - clicks which I don't know how to identify.

Nonetheless, I do appreciate the feed and have it running right now!  Smiley

Well as of yesterday and today, it sounds like either Buzz56's antenna has broken or something else has.   The readability is  "1 by 1" Smiley

AvWorld wouldn't even need an antenna, I'd imagine... though they might have one on their roof (don't know for sure) Smiley

Mike
Logged
bcrosby
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 332



WWW
« Reply #18 on: November 30, 2006, 12:14:20 PM »

I'll contact Aviation World and see if they are interested in streaming what they have (I think they only monitor tower) to liveatc.net.
Logged

Spitfire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #19 on: November 30, 2006, 10:12:47 PM »

I've already contacted Len Neath, Owner of Aviation World indicating that there may be someone getting in touch with him in this regard.
Logged
Tom56
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2006, 08:47:54 PM »

Scanner has been replaced. I hope the audio sounds better out there.  grin
Logged
Yegger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 201



« Reply #21 on: December 14, 2006, 02:50:09 PM »

Scanner has been replaced. I hope the audio sounds better out there.  grin

Sounds soooo much better, thanks a lot.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!