Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 22, 2014, 09:15:15 PM
Home Help Login Register      
News: NEW Follow LiveATC updates on Twitter and Facebook


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Listener Forum (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  KHRO feed down again.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: KHRO feed down again.  (Read 1012 times)
hawker53
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« on: July 16, 2014, 08:59:43 PM »

I am using the raspberry pi computer at KHRO.  Each internet outage and power outage causes the raspberry to go down.  The feed is in an airport managers office, so I am out of luck from 4:00PM to 7:45 Am as far as human intervention is concerned.  She has been good in unplugging and plugging the unit back in, but I would rather just buy an APC.  No problems with the scanners.  They come right back with restoration of power and/or internet.

Should I hook an APC to the raspberry pi?  When an internet or power outage occurs, the scanner comes up normally as told to me by the airport manager.  The raspberry does not.  Would putting the pi on an APC solve this constant outage problem?  Anybody have any thoughts on that?  This is the second night of failure and the airport manager has to unplug and plug-in to the pi itself to get all the lights to come up.  I have two other feeds and all is well with those two raspberry computers.  One comes back on without an APC and the other is hooked to an APC.  Would an APC solve this problem and what kind should I purchase for the raspberry pi.  All of my feeds are in the offices of airport managers.
Logged
swa4678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2014, 10:39:59 AM »

I guess my first question is... what do you mean by "an APC"? Do you perhaps mean a UPS (possibly one manufactured by APC)? If so... to me, that sounds like a workaround (versus a solution) that might work as long as the outage doesn't exceed the UPS' capacity. Regardless... the computer geek within me would want to try to pursue a software solution before attempting a hardware solution.

Have you ever had physical access to the Pi after one of these outages? Is it really dead in the water, or is it at least running and perhaps only certain pieces of the hardware didn't come back up (Ethernet, for example)?

If it's running on some level, seems like it would be possible to utilize a service/daemon to perform a soft reset if you can somehow detect the error condition (e.g. have the thing check to see if it can reach the Internet every 120 seconds; if 2-3 consecutive failures occur, reboot it).
Logged
hawker53
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 03:42:12 PM »

I mean UPS.  I noticed Amazon noticed, too, that a UPS was needed for the pi (keep getting advertisements to buy).  I retrieved and returned it to Dave as further attempts to reboot were unsuccessful.  When I unplugged from the electrical bar and replugged all the lights came on again, but the feed never showed that it was working on my I-phone or the manager's computer.  When returned I will put everything on a UPS this time.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!