Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 31, 2014, 04:30:10 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: LiveATC.net Flyers Released!  Please click here to download & print a copy and be sure to post at an airport near you!


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Air Traffic Monitoring
| |-+  Listener Forum (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  YBBN - Brisbane Feed
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: YBBN - Brisbane Feed  (Read 7563 times)
ashtram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« on: September 03, 2013, 10:52:50 PM »

It says the feed is down here:
http://www.liveatc.net/search/?icao=YBBN

Code:
YBBN Approach
Feed Status: DOWN
Last heard on: 2013-08-30 11:36:03 (4 days 15 hours 12 minutes ago)
YBBN Approach Audio Archives
Facility Frequency
Brisbane Approach 125.600

YBBN Tower
Feed Status: DOWN
Last heard on: 2013-04-08 10:06:05 (148 days 16 hours 42 minutes ago)
YBBN Tower Audio Archives
Facility Frequency
Brisbane Tower 120.500

But if you type this in:
http://www.liveatc.net/flisten.php?mount=ybbn
Code:
You are listening to:
YBBN Gnd/Twr/App - Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
YBBN 040200Z 11013KT 9999 SCT045 21/11 Q1030 NOSIG

It works - but I seem to be hearing the Ambulance chatter instead of ATC? Does anyone know what's going on?
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3665



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2013, 10:57:28 PM »

It's a discontinued feed that hasn't been removed from the audio server yet.  So just ignore it.  That's why both feeds show as down - the two potentially available feeds are down.

Logged
ashtram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 11:48:40 PM »

OK, thanks for the update. [Edit] Nevermind - it's back - thankyou Mr Feeder!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2013, 06:51:22 PM by ashtram » Logged
por930
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2013, 03:28:41 AM »

I notice the Brisbane(YBBN) Tower feed has been off air for several months, while the LiveATC Approach feeds sort of work. I can hear the a/c, but never the controllers.

Looking at the previous comments, will the entire feed be discontinued or are some"repairs" envisaged?

Be great if we can get the feeds working again. Although, I am on final for runway 01, there is a big hill between me and the tower, otherwise, I would provide the feed.

Regards
Geoff
Logged
por930
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 08:29:14 PM »

I had some airband modelling carried out of the airband transmitters at the airport carried out for my address and found that I am far enough away from the 20m hill between me and YBBN tower for good reception. Tried with basic airband radio standing on outside deck and all works very  well.

To provide feeds, if required, what antenna is preferable? I was looking at a discone.
And, what would be an adequate receiver/scanner that I can use to connect into the network, as my old Pro2021 a bit old?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Geoff
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3665



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2013, 06:06:31 PM »

I had some airband modelling carried out of the airband transmitters at the airport carried out for my address and found that I am far enough away from the 20m hill between me and YBBN tower for good reception. Tried with basic airband radio standing on outside deck and all works very  well.

To provide feeds, if required, what antenna is preferable? I was looking at a discone.
And, what would be an adequate receiver/scanner that I can use to connect into the network, as my old Pro2021 a bit old?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Geoff


Your Pro-2021 will do fine.  As far as antennas, something narrower in bandwidth than a discone will do better, in general.  Tune a ground-plane antenna for the middle of the band and you should be fine.  But if you're interested in using the antenna for other things outside the aviation band, then a discone is fine.  Experimentation is key.
Logged
por930
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2013, 09:12:31 AM »

Thanks Dave,
I have been playing about with a J Pole in place of my old Discone tuned at 124MHz. Will see how this goes. Amazing my old Pro2021 still works pretty well.
Regards
Geoff
Logged
squibcakes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2014, 10:25:37 PM »

Hi Dave,

I have the replacement scanner you sent tuned to:

 TWR: 120.5
 GND: 121.7
 APP: 124.7
 APP/DEP: 125.6
 DEP: 128.3
 YBCC APP: 123.5

Cheers
J
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!