airtraffic

Author Topic: Where to buy a cheap scanner for a newbie  (Read 10240 times)

Offline Trevor KJ6RPM

Where to buy a cheap scanner for a newbie
« on: September 30, 2010, 09:13:15 PM »
hey guys i am new to the forums and was wondering where i could buy a good but cheap radio scanner. i am an Xplane vatsim pilot and would like to listen witha scanner. So any suggestions would be appreciated this is what i had in mind.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3704415&filterName=Price&filterValue=under+%24149.99#

Offline Dave_B

Re: Where to buy a cheap scanner for a newbie
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 11:15:49 AM »
ebay

Offline squeegeeboy

• You like airplanes too?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 04:45:41 PM »
I've bought my last two at Radio Shack, but you're sure to find some deals on eBay. Though, if you've got the itch and the cash Radio Shack isn't bad.

Offline K5PAT

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2010, 07:06:25 PM »
Trevor,
    If you are in the USA, you might also try www.craigslist.com. I've seen a few scanners on Craigs list in my area.

Offline Trevor KJ6RPM

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2010, 03:44:32 PM »
Geez that was quick thanks u guys.

Offline Trevor KJ6RPM

« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2010, 12:35:23 PM »
Also what would be better i live like 15 miles from SFO should i invest in base or a handheld.

Online Chananya Freedman

« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2010, 02:33:44 PM »
base is best.

alltheway

« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2010, 03:27:51 PM »