Author Topic: ZNY - North Mountain  (Read 78210 times)

Offline JetScan1

Re: ZNY - North Mountain
« Reply #25 on: September 04, 2013, 10:08:16 PM »
I've been using Flightradar24 to monitor flights, but I just found another site, Plane Finder, which seems to be a little more accurate and up to date.  I believe there is about a five minute delay in flight time on Flightradar24.  Just curious...

I don't use either one so I'm not really an expert on the differences. I know they both use a combination ADS-B (real time) and FAA data (5 min delay), but I haven't really compared the two.

As a reference when I'm monitoring I use Flight Explorer (Pilot Edition), it only uses the delayed FAA data, not ADS-B, so even though the position data is delayed I like it because it provides a very accurate depiction of ARTCC sector boundaries, nav aids, waypoints, and current routing.

http://www.flightexplorer.com/pilot/pilotEdition.aspx

Offline dave

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • LiveATC.net
« Reply #26 on: September 05, 2013, 08:00:32 AM »
It is not uncommon for a given RCAG site to have some transmitters be stronger than others, even noticeably so.  I have seen cases where there is a bad or failing piece of coax, patch cable, or antenna.  It could also be an issue where a given antenna just happens to be in a null for the person trying to receive it.  Another possibility is one frequency being at one end of the band where the person trying to receive it may have an antenna optimized for the opposite end of the band.

Offline RonR

« Reply #27 on: September 05, 2013, 08:29:12 AM »