Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 30, 2016, 03:11:16 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: Check out: FlightSimCon 2016 June 11-12, 2016


+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Aviation
| |-+  Pilot/Controller Forum (Moderators: dave, RonR)
| | |-+  Airports who NEVER TALK.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Airports who NEVER TALK.  (Read 25754 times)
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« on: December 15, 2008, 05:17:24 PM »

I was listening to a airport (I won't say which one cause I live by it..) and It was been a hour, they Said NOTHING!!! still listening, been about 50 mins since i tuned in, NO TALKInG!!! >.<
Logged
KSYR-pjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1722



« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2008, 05:55:46 PM »

Are you sure the feed is healthy?    If so, go to Flightaware.com and see if there are any scheduled inbounds or outbounds for the airport.

And finally, how come you won't mention the airport?  Afraid someone is going to show up at your door discouraged that you have dissed your home airport?   smiley
Logged

Regards, Peter
ATC Feed:  Syracuse (KSYR), NY
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2008, 06:11:15 PM »

Well first of al  it's small. and Really close. but anyways, i saw a plane, that LANDED, I heard no chatter. it said Flight *blah blah blah, Forgot the name* Has Landed, when I was tracking it, but i heard ABSOLUTELY NO CHATTER!
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2008, 07:33:54 PM »

the airport is KTOL. Read what i wrote.
Logged
tyketto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 964


« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2008, 07:37:34 PM »

the airport is KTOL. Read what i wrote.

And how exactly were you tracking it? FlightAware?

BL.
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2008, 07:41:12 PM »

Using Itunes, Tracked witht the site it gives you..
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2008, 07:42:18 PM »

Yeah, FlightAware
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2008, 07:55:45 PM »

please tell me, is there something wrong with the friquency?
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4022



WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2008, 08:32:54 PM »

Sometimes feeds are up but have technical problems.  It is not a perfect world.
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2008, 08:41:47 PM »

Nice to see you Dave. Ty for commenting.
Logged
oreotsi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2008, 01:36:49 AM »

the airport is KTOL. Read what i wrote.


When did you ever mention that in your original post?
In parentheses, you actually state how you don't want to give the airport name.

 huh
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2008, 08:14:51 AM »

The callsign for the airport is KTOL, a.k.a. Toledo Express, OH
Logged
dorishd
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 61



« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2008, 01:26:36 PM »

the airport is KTOL. Read what i wrote.


When did you ever mention that in your original post?
In parentheses, you actually state how you don't want to give the airport name.

 huh

I think he was typing his post when KSYR-pjr posted. So he then posted again with the airport location after he had already made the other post, and was pointing out to read both posts. I don't think he was implying that he alreadt stated the airfield. Does that make sense? Just trying to be peacemaker  wink
Logged
KSYR-pjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1722



« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2008, 01:41:04 PM »

Well first of al  it's small. and Really close. but anyways, i saw a plane, that LANDED, I heard no chatter. it said Flight *blah blah blah, Forgot the name* Has Landed, when I was tracking it, but i heard ABSOLUTELY NO CHATTER!

FlightAware purposely introduces a delay of 5 to 10 minutes for security reasons, LiveATC does not.   Thus, if a flight is showing as active in FlightAware it really will be about 5-10 minutes ahead of that position.  Keep this in mind when attempting to synchronize FlightAware with LiveATC.
Logged

Regards, Peter
ATC Feed:  Syracuse (KSYR), NY
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2008, 04:46:09 PM »

 but i was listening to it, when it said it took off. but i still heard nothing the whole time
« Last Edit: December 16, 2008, 05:08:20 PM by mounsteres » Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2008, 05:44:53 PM »

seriously, can anyone help?  huh
Logged
dave
Site Founder
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4022



WWW
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2008, 06:00:52 PM »

OK, enough.

We are already looking into it.  Please stop the incessant posting.  It will not help bring it back faster.

Patience is a virtue - please learn how to have some.
 
This is a free service to which very few listeners donate.  With more donations we could have more reliable feeds in the more populated places.  So instead of continuing to complain perhaps a donation would go further.  No amount is too small.

-Dave
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2008, 07:54:21 PM »

anyways, what do you need to do that? (like make feeds?) anyways, I just started hearing it today... (like at 7:30 PM.
Logged
tyketto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 964


« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2008, 08:05:48 PM »

anyways, what do you need to do that? (like make feeds?) anyways, I just started hearing it today... (like at 7:30 PM.

FAQ.

BL.
Logged
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2008, 08:27:19 PM »

sorry. and ty. Anyways, I'm glad I heard from them... Now it's Constant Chatter (cause of all we get is Cargo. Even thought there is kindda snow/sleet.. (2 inches of snow)
Logged
oreotsi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2008, 11:13:23 PM »

live atc isn't exactly live either, at least the BOS feeder is off by probably 30-45 seconds. Obviously due to the time it takes to feed and then come through my computer.

Not that it matters, just something i noticed.
Logged
KSYR-pjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1722



« Reply #21 on: December 16, 2008, 11:28:48 PM »

live atc isn't exactly live either, at least the BOS feeder is off by probably 30-45 seconds. Obviously due to the time it takes to feed and then come through my computer.

Not that it matters, just something i noticed.

True, but as far as receiving live ATC frequencies over the air using a scanner, converting the signal to a digital stream, uploading this stream to a server, downloading it across the vast chasm that is the Internet to an audio player that decodes the stream into analog audio that comes out your speakers, it is as close to live as current technology can deliver.  Ha...    smiley

Or, in other words, there is no intentional delay added to the feeds.
Logged

Regards, Peter
ATC Feed:  Syracuse (KSYR), NY
mounsteres
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2008, 07:09:35 AM »

i proboly have a 1-2 second delay since i'm like near the airport.
Logged
keith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 286


WWW
« Reply #23 on: January 01, 2009, 12:57:59 PM »

Your proximity to the airport has _absolutely nothing_ to do with the delay. The delay is caused by buffering through layers of the architecture that serves up the streaming audio.
Logged

KS Flight Log - pics, videos, ATC/intercom audio and in depth flight reviews
PilotEdge - add ATC to your simulation experience
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!