airtraffic

Author Topic: Approach call-up/Flight Following  (Read 42214 times)

Offline dentaylor

Approach call-up/Flight Following
« on: May 01, 2011, 12:32:11 AM »
I have a some questions for the controllers out there. I'm usually flying in the Houston area. I'm a fairly new pilot and I want to make sure that I'm working efficiently with ATC.

My initial call to Appr usually goes like this:
Houston Approach N12345 10 North of Lake Jackson 2,500 VFR to Galveston, request advisories.

1. Is this too much info for the initial call up? Usually they'll give me a xponder code, tell me 'radar contact, etc' then ask the same info that I already gave.

2. The last time I was on VFR Flight Following I apparently left the controller's area without him realizing it. After 15 minutes or so I announced 'N12345 is leaving 2,500 for 4,500'. He responded with 'I don't know who you are'. I told him my xponder code then he said 'oh, you need to contact Center. You've left my area a while ago'. My question is, had I never said anything I [eventually] would've ended up in another controller's area with a xponder code that he wouldn't recognize. What would've happened?

3. If I'm VFR can I call Appr on the ground and get a xponder code before takeoff? There are some Alert Areas (Student Jet Training) and MOA's around me. I usually get FF through those anyway.

Thanks in advanced!

Offline StuSEL

Re: Approach call-up/Flight Following
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 01:08:20 AM »
1.) No, that is an appropriate amount of information. You want to give them WHO you are, WHERE you are, and WHAT you want. This gives them everything they need.

2.) The thing you have to know about VFR Flight Following/Traffic Advisories (the two terms are interchangeable) is that it is only a secondary function for the controllers. This means that if the controller gets too busy, you become a secondary priority. This is Note 2 of the definition of TRAFFIC ADVISORIES from the FAA Pilot/Controller glossary: