airtraffic

Author Topic: Clearance Delivery  (Read 51701 times)

Offline wabsrck

Clearance Delivery
« on: January 05, 2010, 09:59:47 PM »
Hi all,

I am a private pilot and was wondering what would be the best communications for an airport with a clearance delivery.  I will eventually be flying out of Dupage airport.  I am no stranger to class D and have done all my training in a D environment with a TRSA but clearance delivery throws me a little.

My idea to calling a clearance delivery for a VFR flight would be:
Skyhawk 2122M at (place) with (current atis) departure to the east at 2500

Is that correct?

Also when they respond will it be taxi instructions and such...doing all this before I start the engine?

Thanks in advance for your replies

Offline mklatval

Re: Clearance Delivery
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 10:08:16 PM »
I don't think there is any need to tell them what altitude you flying at since your VFR. Other than that your example is just fine. When people give me an altitude, I usually ignore it because they are VFR.

Offline sykocus

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 02:56:17 AM »
I think a lot would depend if you are looking for flight following or not. If all you want is to depart the D VFR then the altitude probably won't affect the controller much.  If you want flight following or TRSA service then I would throw in where you are going and what altitude. When providing TRSA service the radar controller has a separation responsibility and what altitude you want to climb to may be useful for the tower to pass on to the approach control. In fact if you departing from the airport the TRSA is for (rather then an adjacent airport), it's likely in an LOA that the tower *is required* pass your altitude to the radar facility.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2010, 04:01:34 PM by sykocus »

Offline Jason

• CFI/CFII
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2010, 08:36:48 AM »