Author Topic: Hard Decision..  (Read 16972 times)

Offline Keeper4560

Hard Decision..
« on: June 02, 2010, 07:26:41 PM »
Hello everybody, my name is Alex and I'm looking to get some opinion on a dilema i have when it comes to being a pilot or ATC. I've wanted to fly since i was young and i still want to persue that choice. Now only a year away from college I need to pick what i really want to do. I've also have come to like Air Traffic Control as well. My main goal is to fly but i just wonder what would be easier and more safe to become in this economic time. I have some experience with both from listening and playing Flight Simulator, and I love it. Any help or suggestions would be gladly appreciated.

----Alex

Offline klkm

Re: Hard Decision..
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2010, 11:53:02 AM »
ATC from a financial stand point is a much better career choice.  Most will say you should do what you want to do though.  If you have no previous flying experience but flight sim, maybe you wont like it as much as you think.  I would give ATC a shot while pursuing flying and see how it works out in college.  ATC first year you'll make about 42,000, pilot for a regional will make about half.   ATC second year at a level 12 you will make 70,000-95,000, and after 3-4 years depending on  check out you'll be well over 110,000.  Now I see no downside to going ATC, as a pilot you could be lucky to get into the 40,000+ range in 4 years.  But if you love flying, fly, if you find you love ATC go that route.  Do what you want to do, it will make life much easier. 

Offline cessna157

• facebook
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2010, 02:37:49 AM »
Here's an option for you:

Go to a college that offers an ATC degree (CTI).  Then, while you're there, you can study your pilot stuff on the side.  If you can, major in both, or major in ATC and minor in flight, etc...

There are several schools that do this.  University of North Dakota pops into my mind at first.

Offline abelenky