Author Topic: Transcievers / Recieves  (Read 29007 times)

Offline scorpia54

Transcievers / Recieves
« on: February 21, 2009, 09:08:44 PM »
Hi There (first post)

I am a students pilot and have heard that some people carry a handheld radio of some description in their flight bag. So what are the differences between transcievers and recievers? And which model / features should I look for to purchase one to carry in my flight bag in the case of a radio failure? Also I would like to have it on my desk at home to listen to my local airport transmissions.

Is this normal things to do with them? Which models / brands would you guys suggest.
(Live in Australia)
Regards and thx
Jake

Offline scorpia54

Re: Transcievers / Recieves
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 02:36:16 AM »
so no one has any advice on hand held radios?

Offline Marty Becker

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2009, 07:31:17 AM »
I have a Yaesu/Vertex Standard VX-210.  Very nice aviation transceiver.  Check out Icon.  They also make nice aviation transceivers.

Offline KSYR-pjr

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2009, 08:50:26 AM »
Sorry for the late reply.   My advice is not so much on brand but on features.  Place a high importance on getting one that draws power from regular, non-rechargeable alkaline batteries.  Second on my feature list would be one that accepts the plugs from your aviation headsets.

My hand-held drew its power from a rechargeable battery.  Given that I would leave it in the airplane and that rechargeable batteries lose just about all their power over a month's time, I discovered it was never charged when I pulled it out to test it.   

Offline Jason

• CFI/CFII
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2009, 04:48:01 PM »
Sorry for the late reply.   My advice is not so much on brand but on features.  Place a high importance on getting one that draws power from regular, non-rechargeable alkaline batteries.  Second on my feature list would be one that accepts the plugs from your aviation headsets.