Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 01, 2014, 03:42:56 AM
Home Help Login Register      
News: NEW Follow LiveATC updates on Twitter and Facebook

+  LiveATC Discussion Forums
|-+  Recent Posts
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 10

 51 
 on: August 20, 2014, 07:37:16 PM 
Started by trichorse - Last post by trichorse
From 7:31pm eastern to 7:33pm, there was a line of bad-but-funny Dreamliner jokes on JFK ground control...mostly about the name and the size of the plane, if I heard correctly.

 52 
 on: August 20, 2014, 05:28:44 PM 
Started by av8tor172 - Last post by RonR
Great catch George! Thanks for sharing!

 53 
 on: August 20, 2014, 03:48:41 PM 
Started by DJ Leo Roche - Last post by Airuser
Is it possible to monitor the communication of a specific flight while in flight?

There is a product available that will monitor the flight one is travelling on.

Black Boc Mk 2 Passive Vhf airband receiver. 

Web site

www.tmrf.co.uk

Hope this is what you are looking for

 54 
 on: August 20, 2014, 03:20:59 PM 
Started by av8tor172 - Last post by av8tor172
Today 1 of my search scanners snagged some interesting comms in the MilAir UHF Air Band.

On 238.375 FM (yes FM) had good comms and hearing callsigns Sky Sat Launch, Apache Base and Combat Sky Sat.  After doing some research I found out that Sky Sat is an FM Military UHF Repeater that's sent up on a High Altitude Balloon to provide communications on UHF over long distances.

It appears what I heard was a demo of this system. I don't know where it was launched from.  Sig. strength was strongest to the South of me (Daytona Beach) so I assume KSC, Canaveral AFS, or Patrick AFB.  I'm uploading some of the comms I copied from the balloon/repeater.

I also was receiving a data signal, assumed to be telemetry from the balloon's payload.  I have a video of that signal on my website as well as pictures of a Sky Sat system. You can see more here: http://milaircomms.com/skysat.html

Just don't snag stuff like this everyday, it was a bit different....

George
www.MilAirComms.com

 55 
 on: August 20, 2014, 05:46:42 AM 
Started by ijustclick - Last post by RonR
Do you recall what frequency you heard this on? Thanks.

 56 
 on: August 20, 2014, 01:38:21 AM 
Started by ijustclick - Last post by ijustclick
Just heard this over the scanner.

East Boston: A7/P2/Div 1 en route to Logan for an Alert 2. (EMS 13)

 57 
 on: August 19, 2014, 08:49:43 PM 
Started by AsianNomad - Last post by AsianNomad
The RKSI feed is back up.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk


 58 
 on: August 19, 2014, 03:07:16 PM 
Started by HappyBird - Last post by StuSEL
When within Class B, Class C, or the Class C outer area, the type of service being provided by a radar controller is different than the flight following you receive outside of those classes of airspace. Inside the Class B, Class C, or Class C outer area, the controller is required to provide you a certain level of separation from other traffic dependent upon your weight classification. In doing so, the controller may legally assign you altitudes that do not comply with NEODD-SWEVEN/91.159.

Outside of a Class B, Class C, or the Class C outer area, controllers provide traffic advisories on a workload-permitting basis. They also have an order to prevent collisions between aircraft, so it would not be unheard of for a controller to "assign" or suggest a heading or altitude change to prevent a collision, if he or she believes one is imminent.

In no case while talking to ATC is a pilot permitted to violate the regulations of14 CFR. In the absence of an ATC-issued altitude assignment, pilots must comply with 91.159.

 59 
 on: August 19, 2014, 02:18:49 PM 
Started by RonR - Last post by trichorse
And of course, there is a lesson in this.  Just heard on ground control at JFK a Port Authority Vehicle request entry onto a runway to inspect the area where a high-powered run-up had taken place.  So lessons to be learned and are learned.

 60 
 on: August 18, 2014, 11:25:38 PM 
Started by janlam01 - Last post by janlam01
On August 13, Air Canada Jazz 8953 from Fredericton to Toronto diverted to Ottawa because the pilot reported that there was smoke.

Media report: http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/air-canada-jazz-flight-ac8953-makes-emergency-landing-in-ottawa-1.2735068?cmp=rss

Flightaware: http://flightaware.com/live/flight/JZA8953/history/20140813/0830Z/CYFC/CYYZ

This incident caused a ground stop because the aircraft landed on the only runway that was available for use, which was Runways 07/25 (runways 14/32 is out of commission due to repaving activity). Passengers from that aircraft were evacuated onto the runway after landing. A city bus was called to transport the evacuated passengers from the runway into the Airport Terminal. All departures that would have been scheduled to leave Ottawa between 6AM and 7AM were not able to leave until after 7AM. One arrival (Air Canada flight 138 from Vancouver) had to divert to another airport.

The edited audio attached lasts about 20 minutes long. Note that the first 6:35 (6 minutes and 35 seconds) of the audio are conversations between Jazz 8953 and ATC until it landed safely in Ottawa. Beyond 6:35 are conversations that occurred after the plane landed and evacuated.

--
From 9:20Z to 11:02Z (5:20AM to 7:02AM eastern daylight time, local time).

9:20Z [5:20 ET]: Air Canada Jazz 8953 (JZA8953) inquires Montreal Centre (frequency 132.35) about ride report.

9:22Z [5:22 ET]: Montreal Centre asks JZA8953 to switch to the Controller's other frequency 128.775.

9:49Z [5:49 ET]: Montreal Centre handoff JZA8953 to Toronto Centre frequency 124.675

<Gaps in conversation after handoff to Toronto Centre>

9:54Z [5:54 ET]: JZA8953 was back with Montreal Centre indicating that there was smoke in the cabin and is planning to land in Ottawa. Montreal Centre asked JZA8953 whether an emergency was declared with Toronto Centre and later asked the pilot for fuel and souls.

9:57Z [5:57 ET]: Montreal Centre handoff JZA8953 to Ottawa Arrivals frequency 135.15

9:57Z [5:57 ET]: JZA8953 checks in with Ottawa Arrivals and the Controller immediately gives approach clearance for Runway 07. The pilot was requesting for fire trucks and advises that he intends to stay on the runway and evacuating the plane.

9:58Z [5:58 ET]: (Conversation in progress) Ottawa Ground speaking with one of the "Red" vehicles relaying the relevant information regarding the emergency from JZA8953.

9:58Z [5:58 ET]: Ottawa Arrivals advises JZA8953 that emergency crews are on standby, and later gave wind and altimeter information to the pilot.

9:59Z [5:59 ET]: "Red 1" + 3 advised that they've crossed Runway 25. Ottawa Ground authorized the trucks to cross Runway 32 if need to.

10:00Z [6:00 ET]: Red 8 advised his standby position.

10:01Z [6:01 ET]: Red 1 asks Ottawa Ground what the pilot's intention is after landing.

10:01Z [6:01 ET]: (Conversation in progress) Ottawa Arrival essentially tells JZA8953 that they are too high for the approach.

10:03Z [6:03 ET]: (Conversation in progress) Ottawa Ground unable to give information to Red 1 because they (most likely the Controller for Ottawa Arrivals) don't have time to answer any questions from Tower. Red 1 advises his intent after the plane lands.

10:03Z [6:03 ET]: Ottawa Arrivals gives a wind check for JZA8953.

10:04Z [6:04 ET]: Ottawa Arrivals tells JZA8953 to descend as they are 4.5 mile final. Ottawa Arrival gives landing clearance and NOT TO switch to Ottawa Tower.

10:06Z [6:06 ET]: Air Canada 138 (ACA138) inbound to Ottawa checks in with Montreal Centre. Montreal Centre gives ATIS and what runway to land on.

10:06Z [6:06 ET]: Ottawa Ground tells the Red vehicles to proceed.

10:07Z [6:07 ET]: JZA8953 advises Ottawa Arrivals that they are evacuating the plane.

10:07Z [6:07 ET]: Ottawa Ground advises the Red vehicles that the plane is being evacuated.

10:08Z [6:08 ET]: Montreal Centre advises ACA138 that Runways 07/25 is closed.

10:08Z [6:08 ET]: Ottawa Ground advises all aircraft waiting to depart Ottawa that there's an emergency and that the effected aircraft is evacuating onto the runway.

10:11Z [6:11 ET]: Montreal Centre gives ACA138 holding instruction.

10:13Z [6:13 ET]: Porter 241 asks Ottawa Ground/Ottawa Clearance about departure delays.

10:16Z [6:16 ET]: Security 207 informing that he is escorting the paramedics and is requesting access to Runway 25.

10:18Z [6:18 ET]: (Conversation in progress) Montreal Centre gives ACA138 a new "expect further clearance time in the hold. ACA138 advised that they might need to go to their alternate.

10:19Z [6:19 ET]: Air Canada Van request permission from Ottawa to go onto the runway
to provide assistance.

10:21Z [6:21 ET]: (Conversation in progress) Montreal Centre advised ACA138 that they are unlikely be able to land in Ottawa before 10:40Z.

10:23Z [6:23 ET]: WestJet 357 receives clearance from Clearance Delivery and then inquires about the delay.

10:25Z [6:25 ET]: Air Canada 479 advises Ottawa Ground that they are shutting their engines off.

10:25Z [6:25 ET]: Air Canada Van requests to return to the Apron. And Red 5 request to go onto Runway 25.

10:29Z [6:29 ET]: Air Canada Jazz 7730 asks Ottawa Ground/Clearance how long they'll be able to depart.

10:30Z [6:30 ET]: ACA138 advises Montreal Centre that they've instructed them to divert to Montreal.

10:31Z [6:31 ET]: Birdman advises Ottawa Ground that he is escorting the bus of evacuated passengers to Gate 19.

10:32Z [6:32 ET]: Montreal Centre cancels holding clearance for ACA138 and heads to Montreal.

10:34Z [6:34 ET]: Montreal Centre provides ACA138 clearance to Montreal.

10:35Z [6:35 ET]: Air Canada Jazz 8638 asks Ottawa Ground when they'll be able to depart and what the incident was.

10:36Z [6:36 ET]: Montreal Centre handoff ACA138 to the next sector.

10:37Z [6:37 ET]: Ottawa Ground advises all aircraft awaiting to depart that the emergency aircraft is about to be towed.

10:41Z [6:41 ET]: Endeaver Air 3916 (operating for Delta Airlines) asks Ottawa Ground/Clearance Delivery about the emergency.

10:43Z [6:43 ET]: Birdman advises Ottawa Ground that he has dropped off the bus and the passengers.

11:00Z [7:00 ET]: Ottawa Ground asks the Duty Manager (Staff 21) when they can open the runway.

11:01Z [7:01 ET]: Red 1 advises Ottawa Ground that they are finished with the runway. And once the Birdman does an inspection, they can use it.

11:02Z [7:02 ET]: Birdman advises Ottawa Ground that the inspection is complete and the runway is available for use.

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 10


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!